Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

There is an opinion asserting that the amount of recycled domestic waste is not adequate thus, there is no other way but introducing a law by government in relation to recycling waste in order to rise it. While I agree that imposing recycling law on citizens could be helpful, I do not agree that it is the only measure that governments are able to take about this issue. In my view, a new recycling law would was as residents have to obey it otherwise they will be punished. This is because many people tend to do obligations which are compulsary not optional. In other words, if they breake brake rules, they will be punished according to what they have done. For example, as for household waste, offenders could be probably by paying fines, community services or even prison sentences for persistant offenders. Consequently, a huge number of individuals are more concious about the law as it deters them from breaking the law resulting in a waste-free environment for us. On the other hand, I feel that governments could do more that just simply introducing a rule.