Some people believe that government grants should be offered to people to encourage them to buy electric vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In contemporary discourse, there has been a strong emphasis on the sustainable practice. In response to this, while some argue that the government should subsidise electric vehicles to promote purchases, I am firmly opposed to this idea in light of other current social issues and the main source and cycle of grants. To begin, although I acknowledge the importance of environmental sustainability, there are a number of prolonged problems that society has been confronting. According to a report conducted in Australia in 2020, people who were displaced by predominantly natural disasters such as floods are still prevalent in certain regions. Additionally, malnutrition and difficulty accessing adequate food on a daily basis are also serious concerns amongst quite a wide population in the nation. Hence, considering the priority of the issue, there would be far more dire problems that the government urgently must address by allocating finite budgets. Another imperative aspect of this argument pertains to the source of subsidy, which is generally gathered by tax from general citizens. Therefore, with the introduction, it can be easily expected to put more burdens on taxpayers, in particular, those who are financially struggling to make ends meet. Furthermore, those who consider buying electric vehicles would be more likely to be affulent, indicating that the subsidies will be eventually allocated for them. Hence, not only does enforcing this new grants system compound the lives of poor, but also they will not receive any benefits. To conclude, while I profoundly understand the intention of introducing the grants for the environmental concerns, I strongly disagree with the statement as there are more prioritised issues and also the grants will not impair the standard lives of the poor.