Some people say that now is the best time in history to be living. What is your opinion about this? What other time in history would be interesting to live in?

Some individuals believe that nowadays is the best period of time to live on Earth, I agree with this claim to some extent, but if I had an opportunity to choose, I would like to live 500 years ago. In today's fast-paced world, the enhancement of technology accompanies our lives with more pleasure. In fact, the improvement in communication, transportation, food safety and health was outstanding. For instance, the great majority of people are provided with medication and clean water and food which has increased the life expectancy and health among folks. In addition, new communication facilities have conducted us through globalization. In other words, we are not only able to keep in touch with our loved ones throughout the world but also to do business where and whenever we are. However, I think these enhancements are increasing our tendency to keep more distance from others. In fact, greed, which is an undeniable human instinct, is leading us to think more about ourselves than others in comparison with the ancient world. In my opinion, 500 years ago was a better era to live. Although some people suffered from inadequate welfare and health, their loyalty to each other against threats was outperformed today. Needless to say, there was also less pollution in the air and surrounding environment, while we cannot find anywhere without human footprints nowadays. In conclusion, due to the improvement of technology, our welfare has been gravely increased and we should consider this decade as the best time to be living, however, I think if I had an opportunity, I might pick 500 years ago for living.