In the developed world, the average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

The average lifespan of individuals in developed countries becomes higher. This phenomenon attracts issues regarding the elderly’s physical fitness and heightening burdens to the productive populations. To address these problems, the government should promote healthy lifestyles and create new initiatives so that older people can still contribute to the economy. Longer life expectancy means that there will be more older individuals in the total population. Some of them may already have medical ailments since middle age, thus they will suffer for a longer period. They develop physical impairment as they age. This will burden the expense of health insurance to cure those problems. In addition, the productive generation will have to work harder to drive economic growth, hence the country has enough money to fund all those programs, especially the ones that are related to health facilities. For instance, in Japan, the cost of medical treatments for senior people increases each year, whereas the rate of newborns keeps declining, putting pressure on the productive age groups. To tackle this predicament, the authority should promote group physical activities to senior citizens so they can religiously maintain their health. Some of them are reluctant to exercise because they feel lonely. Thus creating an activity group to do regular stretching can give them incentives and this program will improve their fitness. For instance, in Malika City, the local government holds a gymnastic event specially designed for the elderly every Sunday. Through this event, the general health of its residents is improving. Moreover, to involve the retired age group to actively contribute to the wheel of the economy, the authority through small and micro enterprises associations can provide a handcraft workshop for them. They can be involved in the production process for a few light jobs. In conclusion, the longer lifespan of people in developed nations will raise some issues regarding the prolonged suffering from disease in senior citizens and the economic burden on the productive generation. Some initiatives to solve these challenges are promoting group exercise and empowering the elderly in small businesses.