Q. In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What problems is this causing? What measures could be taken to counter this situation?

Every year a numerous local and international festivals and celebrations are host to represent countries with their unique cultures and customs. In the contemporary era, the urge necessitating holding maintain those indigenous events has been diminishing in some countries, posing a formidable threat to very existence of some trends. I contend that globalisation is a chief culprit which yields the biggest influence over young generation to steal their attention from these traditional events. First and foremost, for the centuries traditional festivals such as Rio Carnaval and New-year Eve; have been viewed as the way of celebrating a particular activity that bears a significant value for the local residents. However, in the present, this trend is being underscored by communities regardless how engaging these events really are. Owing to the globalisation impact, people are becoming more gravitated towards modern cults, disregarding importance of ethnic festivals and celebrations. To cite an example, although Novruz holiday used to be extravagantly celebrated for seven consecutive days by everyone in Azerbaijan, today almost a single juvenile recalls these rituals and celebration activities as they are busy with their devices at home. Undoubtedly, as a direct result of abolishing these cultural events, many ethnic minorities will be one step closer to being completely vanished from the world. Moreover, it is also true that these regional festivals may not be as attractive to adolescents as they are to the seniors. Thereby, the existing status-quo must be challenged by a new disrupter to tailor these activities so that they can be the centre of students' curiousity. For example, initially the Halloween celebration was all about wearing frightening clothes to scare people. But, just in order to make these activities ever-lasting and captivating to the kids, people came up with an idea to add something that children indulge; sweets. In conclusion, despite local celebrations experience significant devaluation by public, efforts such as adopting to the changing trends by blending in with new technology can revive this foregone wibe.