It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, there has been a debate related to public health. There might be some people who insist that public money should be put more into treatments of patients, while other parts of society believe that allocated funds for public health should be spent to prevent illnesses before they occur or get severe, and I am personally in the same opinion with this view. To begin with, some individuals may assert that public well-being funds should be used to heal people who experience illnesses in their lives. This is due to the fact that those who are diagnosed with health issues might have unexpected expenditures in order to have appropriate remedies to cure their health issues. As a salient example, groups diagnosed with cancers might have to participate in their planned therapy which may require excessive fees. For this reason, people can argue that the government should invest their allocated funds to focus on people who already suffer not only from their sickness but also the treatment fees. However, on the other hand, while an authorised department supports individuals suffering from illnesses, it should not be ignored that governments should develop a public health system to prevent society members from having other bio-psychosocial health issues. To be more specific, it is rational the government should contribute to making our society safe. To exemplify this, for the last few years, it was way more important to protect each member of society from a spread virus such as COVID-19. With this, governments should increase their fund for prevention and early interventions. Therefore, it can be discussed that spending the government’s funds on the prevention of illnesses might play a paramount role in the public health system. To conclude, although there are some people arguing that the government should support those who already suffer from illnesses which require much more money for their treatments, I am personally convinced by the other perspective advocating that public health funds should be more valuable for taking proactive actions before diseases are becoming severe.