Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the beginning of times, the people of this planet have been in a constant state of turmoil due to war and conflict. It is a common notion nowadays that developed countries ought to take responsibility of even more refugees in order to provide basic aid such as shelter and food to them. However, I do not support this point of view as this philanthropic act, regardless of its benefits, can create security issues and scarcity of resources in the host country. To begin the argument, it should be taken into consideration that it is the foremost duty of governments of these wealthy countries to prioritize the security of their own citizens first. After all, hosting these displaced persons could cause a safety threat to society in general, as was observed in Pakistan during the influx of Afghan refugees towards the end of the twentieth century. Consequently, an increase in smuggling of ammunition and creation of retaliation groups was observed. Thus, it imposes an enormous risk on the safety and security of the native population. Furthermore, a significant aspect to consider is the usage of land and facilities by these new people which may lead to economic competition over limited supply of resources. For instance, crude oil prices were recorded to be sky-high during the Gulf War; but by the end of it, they began to decline. Therefore, it could be argued that offering refuge is unfair to residents already settled in that part of the world. To summarize the aforementioned reasons, it can be said that the risk of instability, both social and financial, is a rather huge concern for wealthy nations. Hence, I strongly believe they should not take in any more refugees than they can fairly accommodate.