News plays and important part in most people's lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on bad news instead?

In modern society, the biggest part of humanity cannot imagine a day without reading the news. Undoubtedly, it is crucial for people to keep track of events because some important news is able to affect their lives, nevertheless, news tends to publish bad news in order to attract so much audience attention. In my opinion, I consider that journalists should pay enough attention to the bright side of life and inform us about good news. In all epochs, people were interested in both local news about their own community and some tidings about foreign countries. The knowledge about what is on the agenda today can be important for making long-term plans in business and private life, for instance. Moreover, the discussion of news and gossip works like a social glue for mankind, which helps us to feel connected. Hence, without actual information about the situation in the world, it is hardly possible to be a well-informed person and to go with the times. However, today, news channels are full of bad news about disasters, armed conflicts and incurable diseases. The main reason why this dreadful content is so widespread can be attributed to aspects of human psychology because reading bad news makes the brain produce adrenaline that awakens curiosity and brings excitement, as a result, people want to know more details about some incidents and spend more time on a media platform. The editors of news resources are aware of this feature, so they demonstrate to the public more bad news to catch the attention. Therefore, media resources should make an emphasis on good news instead of concentrating on various misfortunes. I believe that news channels should try to keep a healthy balance between positive and negative events in order to create a truthful picture of the world for their audience. Only by watching both kinds of news, people can understand what is happening on Earth right now. To sum up, objective information is an important part of our lives, so news channels must provide bad and good news to keep people informed about all sides of existence.