Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over more than two decades, the internet media industry has grown significantly and brought plenty of benefits to our lives. Anyway, some people believe that this progress has downsides as well. It is obvious that people around the world have an opportunity to interact instantly with each other no matter how far away they are. For instance, tools like Facebook become not just a communication device, but a place for anyone to find new friends, and jobs, help others, etc. As an example, a friend of mine was the owner of a shelter for animals which had to take care of a significant amount of cats and dogs. Over time, the population has grown and it became quite difficult to keep up with this, it got harder to feed them because the specific food was required which was not cheap. So I have decided to publish the advertisement for the aforementioned application. As a result, he was able to cover the money needed in less than a day. On the other hand, it is hard not to agree with the claim that the media services have drawbacks. The number of entertaining content grows in an unregulated way, which is ok, and it is a key driver for the industry to develop overall. However, it leads to a situation where anyone can spread any type of content with harmful information. Even worse, this information may not be true. Consequently, a lot of young people and children, consuming such data, start to believe in what they have seen and mimic some actions which are potentially dangerous to their lives and health. In conclusion, the advantages of social media give us a variety of choices in day-to-day life, and more importantly, the ability to help others. Nevertheless, we should not forget about filtering the media streams and threats the industry incorporates by adding more control to production companies.