It is important to be concerned about international events, even if those events have no direct impact on our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a common belief that it is not necessary to aware of world events as long as they are unlikely to directly impact on our lives. However, I firmly believe that we should keep up with events occurring in other countries. This is because knowledge of international events allows nations to provide support to other countries and even come up with solutions to their own problems. To begin with, being concerned about international events enables people to help other citizens of the world. Humanitarian crises, natural disasters and conflicts are, unfortunately, frequent occurrences in many places around the globe. By paying attention to these events, it is possible to share resources to assist others in times of need. For instance, the 2008 earthquake in Sichuan, China, caused a lot of damage. However, a quick reaction from the international community helped China rescue more victims than they would have been able to save if they were working alone. Also, many countries donated large amounts of money to make repairs throughout the region. This aid made it easier for local people to deal with the tragedy. On top of that, keeping up with world events leads to a better understanding of how to deal with problems that could occur in our own society. Many societies face similar issues, and looking to see how other states failed or succeeded can provide guidance toward better solutions. Korea, for example, faced a dilemma when the number of migrant workers increased rapidly. Some of them suffered from poor treatment, while others remained in the country without a visa. After looking at international examples from countries like the UK and Germany, which have experienced a similar problem in the past, the Korean government was able to introduce laws to protect the rights of migrant workers while also reducing the number who overstayed illegally. To sum up, understanding what is occurring in other countries makes it possible to help others and provides useful information that can be used to solve problems at home. For these reasons, it is important to maintain an interest in events occurring in other countries.