In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The exponential growth of the fast- food industry in today's world has negatively impacted global health as this trend increases the chance of contracting diet-related illnesses. While levying a higher tariff can prevent people from consuming this food, the practical application of this decision can only be beneficial in the short run. A higher tax imposed on junk food can lead to several advantages. As people get less access to this food, the overall health outcomes of society can be developed. Consequently, this policy can relieve the healthcare burden for the government, bringing about more revenue to invest in another field. Take Singapore, for instance; the authority of this country allocates financial resources stemming from reducing junk food consumption to implement health initiatives and monetary subsidies, making healthier alternatives more accessible for low-income individuals. However, there is no guarantee that higher taxes on fast food can bring about a decline in consumption. Putting this in practice can be a breeding ground for crime such as smuggling as consumers demand a more inexpensive fast food source. As a result, this can threaten social well-being since there is no security in food safety. Besides that, this decision can severely affect those who are impoverished as this is the only option, thanks to its affordability and convenience. In conclusion, the growth of fast food prices can bring about immediate improvement in social health and financial subsidies for another area to thrive. However, in the long run, illegal trade and its severe effects on the poor's lives are worth considering. Hence, alleviating the root cause of this trend by promoting education on healthy eating habits or increasing healthy food choices is more practical.