Some companies sponsor sports and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some companies are sponsoring athletic competitions and athletes to promote their products and some would argue that it is good, however, others say that it has negative consequences. While others believe that it has disadvantages because it is expensive, I believe that it is an advantage for companies because it can help them generate more income. On the one hand, sponsoring sports competitions and the players are expensive, especially for well-known athletes. They cost millions of dollars. This kind of advertisement does not guarantee immediate return on investments. If the sports event or sports star gets involved in a scandal, the overall image of the company will be ruined as well. As a damage control, the company have to stop producing or recalling all the products associated with them. For instance, the famous and award-winning paralympic was accused of killing his girlfriend. Companies had to withdraw their sponsorship with him because they did not want to be involved with a "killer". Thus, this kind of sponsorship has its drawbacks. On the other hand, it can also generate more income for the company. Sports competitions and their players have millions of viewers from all over the world. Sports fanatics tend to support their favourite players in all their endeavours. They can attract their fans to buy the brand they are endorsing, thus it will have more profit. For example, the Jordan shoes are endorsed by Michael Jordan. It is one of the most expensive shoes in the world, despite that a lot of people are buying it and remains one of the most sought shoes up to this day. Hence, this proves that sponsoring sports and athletes can be profitable. In conclusion, although sports events and sports stars' sponsorships can be expensive, the possibility of earning higher income is greater.