Some people think that testing on animals is necessary for discovering medicine that helps fight diseases, while others believe it is not necessary to test on animals for this reason. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Even though medical equipment and knowledge have evolved, numerous new diseases are discovered and need to be addressed. For this matter, an argument appears regarding the medicine testing on animals. Some people believe that testing is essential to check the effectiveness while the other group think it is unnecessary. I believe that both opinions have pros and cons, and I stand with the idea of testing medicine on non-human subjects. To begin with, sample testing of a new cure on animals is urgently needed before public use, and I agree. Firstly, doing research on animals is known to be less risky compared to doing it on humans. It is because medical researchers need to prevent any side effects caused by the medicine. To address this, they need to do a thorough assessment whereas implementing it on another human may be fatal to the subject. So, they need animals that resemble someone's body parts as subjects. Another reason is that it is cost-effective. Subsequently, the research usually tests the meds on such creatures which are known to be found easily, such as mice. Thus, they do not have to spend a high price. Albeit beneficial, animal testing is opposed by some groups of people, for instance, animal lovers and vegans. The main reason for this argument is based on moral values because these communities believe that animals are also living creatures who have the right to live and applying the test to them is hurting them. As an alternative, they suggest government provide a volunteering system for better medical testing. It means that the public who are willing to be tested can apply as a research subject. In this way, the medical team can find a more suitable reaction to the medication. In conclusion, the opinion to test new meds on animals is needed for humanities. I agree with this idea because it is less risky and cheaper. Despite those reasons, some people believe that such testing is against their morale.