Today, children spend a lot of their free time watching TV. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays kids spend a lot of their free time watching TV at home. This essay will argue that the advantages of this do not outweigh the drawbacks. The essay will first demonstrate the harmful effects on children ’s eyes due to watching TV, and the impact on kids’ health due to the development of a sedentary lifestyle, followed by an analysis of critics’ arguments who believe that watching TV improves the cognitive abilities in children. Televisions have very adverse effects on children ’s eyesight due to the emission of blue light from the digital screen. As a result, many children whose eyesight is weak have to start wearing spectacles at a very early age, and it also affects their level of concentration. Furthermore, many children love having oily snacks and soft drinks while watching TV for long hours. These habits badly affect their health and make them lazy. For example, obesity rates in children have risen by 50% in the last decade. However, some people argue that watching TV can improve cognitive abilities in children because they can get knowledge of various subjects like history, science, arts etc. It might be true to some extent if children choose to watch these types of channels on TV. On the contrary, most of the children waste their time watching cartoon channels. Moreover, reading books on various subjects is far more effective than watching TV to improve cognitive abilities. In conclusion, advantages like improvement in cognitive abilities in children cannot outweigh the major disadvantages of watching TV like harmful effects on eyesight and development of a sedentary lifestyle in children.