Drug abuse is an increasing problem in modern times. Discuss some reasons behind this and suggest ways it can be hindered.

It is true that the abuse of illegal drugs has become a critical issue in contemporary society. While this is a serious problem, it can be solved by informing the public more about how dangerous drug use can be. The main cause of the rising incidence of drug abuse is that there are major misconceptions about drug use. In particular, the media portrays it as something exciting and harmless. Characters who use drugs on TV and in films are portrayed as cool or chic. Making matters worse is that people can readily access drugs these days, which gives the impression that drug can be taken freely without consequence. For instance, stories about celebrities who use drugs but remain popular and famous can easily be found on the internet. Also, there are a lot of websites dedicated to people talking about how to make, purchase, or use drugs without getting caught. However, there are solutions to this problems. One of the ways to combat drug abuse is to show people the true extent of the problems caused by illegal drugs. Anti- drug campaigns could describe families with members who are missing or sick due to their drug addiction to really get the point across. In addition, the message that drugs cause pain and unhappiness can be promoted further if more influential people speak up about it. For example, a popular American actor served time in prison and ruined his career when he was young because of his drug use. Afterwards, he honestly released about how horrible his experiences were. Listening to his terrible memories made more people understand how risky drug use really is. To sum up, it is clear that a mistaken belief about drugs is a big reason behind the increasing number of abuse cases. Nevertheless, the issue can be resolved by showing the adverse effects of drugs and the serious damage they cause.