In recent years, there has been a surge in popularity of electrical vehicles. What are the advantages and disadvantages of EVs? Discuss and provide examples.

A preference for electric vehicles has significantly increased all across the world in the last couple of years. This essay will suggest that reduction in air pollution and decreased reliance on natural resources are the biggest advantages of this, but inconvenience in transportation and the high cost of electrical vehicles are the major disadvantages. The main advantage of increased usage of the electrical vehicle is the reduction in the air pollution. Using crude oil as a fuel emits greenhouse gases, which have very harmful effects on air quality. Moreover, the emission of greenhouse gases is the primary cause of global warming which leads to holes in the ozone layer and drastic changes in weather conditions. In addition to that, electric vehicles reduce the dependency on natural resources for fuel, as a result, it saves the reserves of natural resources which can be used for future generations. Though electric vehicles help mitigate the harmful effects of greenhouse gases and save reserves of natural resources, they are not a very convenient mode of transportation. For example, electric cars run on electricity and, it takes more than an hour to fully charge the batteries of the electric cars while for the patrol car, it hardly takes a few seconds to fill fuel tanks. Therefore, electric vehicles are not very convenient for long journeys. Furthermore, the cost of purchasing and maintaining electric cars is 30% more than the patrol cars. In conclusion, electric vehicles are very useful in terms of reducing the negative effects of air pollution and greenhouse gases as well as lessening the dependence on crude oil for fuel; however, they are not as convenient as traditional patrol vehicles for long journeys and, the cost of buying and preserving them is very high.