Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, some people have argued that universities should only teach practical subjects rather than humanities considering university fees are increasing and a limited number of employment opportunities are available now. However, others think that arts play important roles such as acquiring transferable skills. Personally, I mostly disagree with the idea of restricting what students learn in higher education, and I believe that a good balance between them is the best for graduates. On the other hand, the proponents' view is that practical skills can be utilised immediately in jobs after graduation, which is valuable for both employers and graduates. For instance, the ability to use Excel is widely valued in different sectors because it is fundamental to sorting out data in a company. Another example would be being able to speak English as communication with foreign workers is gaining more importance since the world is globalising. Therefore, there is no doubt that teaching those aspects is crucial for students and has a quick effect. However, opponents including me believe that arts subjects improve their transferable skills, which outweigh pragmatic ones. In particular, writing essays and reading academic papers are common tasks in humanity courses, which let undergraduates' capacity to carry out written communication successfully grow massively. In addition, those skills are more important than practical ones because the former is independent of any changes in the world whereas the latter might be useless after decades due to technological advancement. For example, although Excel was mentioned previously as one of the useful abilities in occupations, it is expected that artificial intelligence will overtake this role in the next five years. Therefore, undergraduates should study academic degrees to acquire extensive skills. In conclusion, despite the fact that practical capacities are often considered as something that makes graduates more competent, transferable abilities have unchanging value and therefore they should be prioritised. Moreover, specialising in arts is crucial to improving those aspects, and thus the types of degrees in higher education should not be restricted in my opinion.