Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While it is believed that governments ought to further spend on space expeditions for extraterrestrial lifeforms, many argue that public monetary resources are better spent on alleviating demerits around the globe. From my perspective, the latter one is more rational and I will elaborate on my stream of thoughts in the forthcoming essay. First and foremost, albeit desirable, a venture into the infinite darkness of the cosmos to look for an unknown existence is simply impractical. All currently proposed theories are yet to prove life exists outside our planet with concrete evidence. So far only the fundaments of life like water and carbon are discovered on other planets, but the lifeform itself. Without other prerequisites such as warmth or appropriate atmosphere, alien life remains a fictional tale. Moreover, the current level of technology has not yet allowed travelling outside the solar system. Although various planetary bodies possessing traits similar to Earth are known through advanced telescopes, they are inconceivably distant for an expedition to discover life, let alone retrieve specimens for scientific research. Due to these unsolved obstructions, no matter how much money is poured into this blind pursuit, barely any living cosmic entity is assured to be found. On top of that, on our very planet remains numerous predicaments ranging from climate change to societal conflicts, all of which bring the world closer to destruction. The polluted environment is but a mere consequence of humanity’s doings with our limited technology. A prime example of this is the use of fossil fuels, the biggest culprit responsible for carbon emissions and air pollution in general. Until an alternative environmental-friendly energy is fully developed with more public money, man will continue to suffocate in this obnoxious atmosphere. Humanity also suffers from their own endless grudge and hatred towards each other. This is mostly derived from insufficient education or financial hardships, both of which result in greed, envy or even criminal thoughts. More governmental funding should be spent on addressing the educational background of citizens and it will make earth more of a worth-living place without any need for space cruises. In conclusion, any endeavor put into the search for living extraterrestrial entities is frivolously wasteful in terms of public money. Instead, it should be utilized to mitigate the contemporary crises wreaking havoc around the world.