Nowadays, some buildings such as offices and school have open space design instead of seperate rooms. Why is it so? Do you think it is a positive development or negative?

An open-space design is now a trend in some buildings and schools compared to separate rooms.In my opinion, this is a negative evolution which might lead to a lack of privacy,distraction,and widespread diseases. The main issue that can appear from individuals working in an open-space area is that it can lead to a lack of privacy. An open office environment can make employees feel uncomfortable. Take for example personal matters, employees could feel embarrassed to answer a personal phone call. sometimes not all the employees should know about some confidential information, and this can be difficult to manage in open-space design. As a result, working in open-space places might sometimes lead to a lack of privacy for many employees. Another problem is that working in open-space places might be the cause of distraction. To put it simply, employees can be easily distracted while working in the same area. There are a lot of distractions which can get in the way of focusing only on work namely noise levels, phone notifications and even personal conversations. In other words, employees should work in a quiet and organized place to get away from distractions. Finally, another problem that might be caused by working in open-space places is the widespread diseases among employees. To give a clear example, during the Covid 19 pandemic, there were a lot of people affected everywhere,, but it was easier to get affected in crowded areas than other places, such as work in open-space areas. Thus, working in open-space areas might be one of the reasons for the widespread of different diseases. In conclusion,even though open-space workplaces in schools and in different buildings are popular nowadays,it has many worrying consequences.