Some people believe that sport has an important role in society. Others, however, feel that it is nothing more than a leisure activity for some people. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether sports play an indispensable role in the community or just act as a recreational medium. However, in my opinion, sport brings national prosperity in both economic and health aspects. This essay will reckon on both views with justification in the ensuing paragraphs. To commence with, it is an inevitable fact that any type of play has its own symbolic national value as it attracts tourists and foreign investments. It also helps with the engagement of different nations and age groups by proliferating a sense of achievement. Besides, not only that but also it proportionally enhances social health outcomes as it encourages people to take part in health-benefits activities. Moreover, this encouragement promotes positive lifestyle changes such as relieving stress or an active lifestyle. In addition, these types of activities help to nurture a sense of perseverance, motor-skills which are necessary for people to apply for these occupations. On the other hand, others, argue that it is nothing but only recreational activities. Some of them think that the government should fund more in sports sectors to develop their country's economic status which relatively has a detrimental impact on other sectors such as health and education. This point may be valid. However, without paying enough attention to sports, the consequences are far-fetched as society becomes less energetic and contracts with illnesses, adversely affecting the government in healthcare services and the economy. In conclusion, although the sport has a downside, an equal level of contribution by the government in all sectors might give positive development in this area.