A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism out weight its drawbacks?

There are several countries that completely or partly depend on tourists for their economic and financial growth. However, exceeding the number of tourists and poorly managed culture may raise some critical issues in the countries. I believe that tourism does have some significant advantages as an income source for the modern world that helps to boost the economy and a way to promote local culture, which outweighs its drawbacks. Firstly, the major advantage of tourism is it helps to increase the local income of the country as people visit some historical and significant spots and the people who are living nearby get jobs and their businesses get revenue from it. The tourists stay in hotels and spend on services and transportation which eventually provides foreign income to the country. For example, the Taj Mahal in Agra which is one of the seven wonders of the world, has more than 10 million foreign visitors in a year. Thus, it is a source of income for local citizens and businesses. Secondly, having foreign visitors promotes cultural exchange, social understanding, and tolerance. When people visit other countries they get to know other cultures and customs. This increases respect and tolerance for people having different beliefs and traditions. It promotes local values and gains significant values from other nations. This helps to get people from different cultures close to each other. On the other hand, having a large number of tourists may exploit the local infrastructure and increase dependency. If a country depends on tourists only, it may become a burden on the country's infrastructure such as roads, airports, and housing in the long term. It may decrease the efficiency and accountability of the system. Moreover, it may also impact the country's overall growth as a dependency on tourism requires a special to this sector. There could be chances that other important sectors may get affected and will not be prioritized by the government. In conclusion, it can be said that the social and economic benefits of tourism make it an important sector for the country's overall growth that can benefit the economy if it can be managed wisely in their favor.