Task 2 Some countries invest in specialized sport facilities for top athletes but not for the average person. Is this a positive or a negative development ?

Task 2 Some countries invest in specialized sport facilities for top athletes but not for the average person. Is this a positive or a negative development? It is true that some countries support professional athletes by investing in dedicated sports facilities such a gymnasiums, fitness diagnostics centres and training camps, though this privilege does not extend to everyday people. In my view, this development is generally desirable, though, everyone should receive equal attention on matters of fitness and sports. Admittedly, equal access to specialized sports venues can bring about benefits. The most immediate benefit is to overall public health. Once people are access to professional gymnasiums notwithstanding their training goals - whether it would be compete or for its own sake - they are more driven to do exercise. This is followed by gains in their personal health. Having cultivated a culture of fitness and health this way, a country will see the health improvements of its citizens. On the other hand, government should continue investing in specialized sports facilities for competitive athletes. This is because athletes stand better a chance of winning when they can train at a dedicated training venue as their training is made efficient with the help of special equipment, such as treadmills and workout machines. Efficiency in training gives athletes an edge over their opponents, enabling them to win. Besides, spending training facilities might have limited uses for the common man. It might be a waste of resources to subsidize sports facilities. To conclude, I think that the latest tendency among certain governments to invest in sports facilities for superior sportspersons leaving average people behind is a negative trend, because every citizen should have equal rights. Moreover, in terms of revenue from international events, funding these elite sport objects is not profitable. 267 words