Some people think that sport has significant impact on the society, others think that sport is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have opposing views about the role of sport in society, with some deeming it as no more than a pastime, while others considering it as an essential field bringing numerous benefits. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and agree with the latter. On the one hand, those who argue that the role of sport is limited to a leisure pursuit have a valid reason to support their claim. Supporters say that people these days have very limited time to devote to sports, because they are preoccupied with other responsibilities, such as work and studies. This means that they can only go to the gym, do sports, ranging from table tennis to football, and generally do exercises only when the time allows, probably during the weekends. Consequently, it would be wrong to assume that sports have an important part to play in society, as people are spending negligible amounts of time on staying active, which is in contrast to professional training that requires dedication, effort and time. Nevertheless, I agree with those who believe that sport is integral for society for various reasons. First of all, it is a means of motivating the younger generation to achieve their dreams. These days millions of youngsters look up to well-known athletes, such as Khabib Nurmagomedov and Cristiano Ronaldo, due to their admirable sporting feats and successful life paths. These sportspeople serve as role models for the youth who can be lost in life and don't know who they want to be. The second, albeit equally significant, benefit of sport is that it is a way of maintaining public health. Even if people are spending too little time on doing sports, as long as they keep doing so consistently, they reduce the risk of serious health problems like hearth attacks. While these sport amateurs regard their activity as a pastime, the benefits extend well beyond into nurturing a healthy society. In conclusion, although some individuals consider sport to be an unimportant field in society, reducing its importance to a mere leisure activity, others, including me, take issue with these people, as sport can be a means of motivating the youth and enhancing public well-being.