Some people believe that everyone has the right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

People have different views as to whether university education should be free for everyone regardless of financial status. Despite the fact that there are drawbacks to providing free university education, I believe that it brings about much more benefits. On the one hand, there are three main reasons why governments should not offer free university education to citizens. Firstly, the budget could be used on other more important things such as healthcare and infrastructure to ensure a higher standard of living for citizens. Secondly, the rich can easily afford to pay for their college education, so it would be unnecessary for governments to support them. Finally, not all governments can afford to cover university education costs because there would be too much financial burden to bear. This is especially true in times of financial crisis like the subprime crisis in 2008 when budgets were cut severely. However, there are benefits to making university education accessible for all citizens. Free and quality higher education should be the basic right of every citizen since they pay taxes in one of the other ways to the government. This will also promote equality and reduce inequality among the rich and the poor where there is a widening income gap. By ensuring equal opportunities and an adequate living standard for all people, the crime rate will be much lower. Moreover, free university education would provide students with a fresh start since many young people in the US have a huge student loan debt. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the advantages of offering free university education for all citizens far outweigh the disadvantages.