Many people, especially young children, watch too much television. Some experts think that this can be dangerous, and that the time would be better spent doing other thing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of watching television?

Television brings relaxation and enjoyment but if it excessive it can be harmful to people in the long run. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of watching television. There are few benefits of television. It offers wide range of information like news, educational programs and documentaries in a cheaper way. For example, people who watch daily news help them stay informed about current events and latest trend. Acquiring learnings from variety of educational program such as discovery channel, national geographic channel, history channel and the like will create awareness of the environment and appreciate different cultures and past events. Television is much affordable form of entertainment than going to cinema or amusement park. Various programs of sports, music, movies, reality tv shows bring happiness and joy to the viewer. There is no need to be expensive to find pleasure. On the other hand, there are also drawbacks of too much television viewing. These common health issues arise from constant watching of television are vision problem, irregular sleeping pattern and obesity. For instance, too much staring on the screen or sitting near to television can cause eyestrain. Children who watch television past bedtime can develop irregular sleeping pattern even in adults who are so focus on the reality tv shows, dramas, or news tend to become unaware of time passing. Besides, this can also lead to sedentary lifestyle. Spending more on watching television would create less time for physical activity such as running, playing basketball, or biking thus result to obesity. Inactive social life is also the outcome of watching too much television although they can watch with others but it is limited to family member or relatives. In addition, negative influence from commercial will affect the viewers decision of choosing products. Sometimes, people wont even notice they are slowly being corrupted from the advertisement they see because of wrong information. Also, violence and foul language can be seen and heard on television shows which would have bad impact on youngster. In summary, television is actually great source of information and entertainment. It has either good or bad impact to everyones day to day life from daily news, commercials, and tv shows.