some people say that Government should break down all the historic building and replace them with modern buildings. Do you agree or disagree?

City construction consists of modern and historic buildings. In fact, I strongly disagree with those who argue that the Government should destroy all the buildings that have historical value and replace them with modern ones for two reasons. Firstly, breaking down the historic building has no urgency at all. For example, why does the UK government have to demolish The Old College belonging to The University of Edinburgh if they are still well constructed. Although it seems old, the building has been used for many academic activities which means if the government choose to replace it with modern construction, it will disturb students' learning processes. Rather than destroy, I think it is better for the government to do regular maintenance to all the historic buildings. Secondly, historic buildings are invaluable assets for a country. To illustrate this, let us talk about Buckingham Palace which has been one of the icons of The UK. Not only embody a nation's history, culture, and society, but the building also provides a tangible connection to the past so that we can learn about how people lived back then. Furthermore, the government can maximize the utility of the historic buildings to become a tourist spot. In a small city in Indonesia, Solo, there is a palace named Mangkunegaran which already stood for a long time period. Even though today the government system has been changed, the government of Solo see this as an opportunity to attract both local and foreign tourists to learn about the history of Mangkunegaran. In fact, all the buildings have their own character which can attract overseas visitors since nowadays photography in aesthetical places has become an increasing trend. In conclusion, it is not an urgent thing to transform historic into modern buildings, and keeping all of it actually brings benefits for a country which is a rising nation's revenue due to tourism activity. I, therefore, remain firmly convinced that destroying all the historic buildings is really a bad decision.