Obesity was once considered a disease of adults; however, it is becoming increasingly common among children. Why do you think this is happening? What can be done to help children stay healthy?

Non-communicable diseases like obesity are increasingly common both in adults and children. I believe that there are many contributing factors to why it also affects children. Nowadays, youngsters are eating too much food in their daily lives leading to obesity at an early age. We often hear that children have to eat a lot because they are still growing. However, this can be a misconception because they might end up eating too much food. Children still lack self-discipline and they do not know about the side effects of overeating. Moreover, when adults give them some food, especially junk food, they will tend to accept it with pleasure. Thus, this will increase the prevalence of obesity not only among adults but also among youngsters. There are many ways that can be done to help youngsters stay healthy and decrease the prevalence of obesity. Firstly, I believe that educating parents is necessary to increase awareness about the food intake of their children. If parents are already aware of the foods that they give to their children, it will decrease the possibility of youngsters eating too much food. Secondly, early screening of youngsters is needed because it can prevent long-term health complications. For instance, obese children will have a higher chance of getting several diseases such as diabetes and cardiovascular disease. With the help of early screening, doctors can give various prevention actions that can be given to children. Moreover, parents also can get additional knowledge about the condition of their children. To sum up, obese children are more prevalent nowadays due to the assumption that children must eat a lot. However, I am firmly convinced that with the help of education and early screening, obesity can be prevented from an early age.