In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is thought by scientists that there are two different types of mindset, namely fix and growth. Fix mindset is when people rely on their talents and inherited abilities, meanwhile, growth mindset develops an idea that if you work hard enough, you can achieve success in any sphere. Although the majority of people argue that growth mindset brings just benefits, others believe that this outlook can cause a myriad of problems. In this essay, I will dwell on both points of view and provide my perspectives. To begin with, the idea that you can reach any goal by working hard and following your dream, helps people become purposeful and believe in themself. In this case, it does not matter whether you are talented and rich or not, you can always accomplish success. The only thing you have to do is work as hard as you can to fulfil your potential and all other things will come as a by-product of your efforts. On the other hand, a lot of people claim that this approach is not universal and even can harm people, especially teenagers. Unfortunately, sometimes regardless of how much you try to achieve something it is impossible to do. In this moment people with this mindset feel a myriad of pressure. Moreover, they think that the reason for failure rests just on their shoulders and do not take into consideration external circumstances. As a result, people get depressed and even can commit suicide if someone does not help them. In conclusion, I tend to believe that this idea has both advantages and disadvantages and in order to use this mindset properly people have to develop critical thinking. In this case, they will have the ability to realise when is necessary to work harder and when is important to change external conditions.