Some people say that your first impressions when you meet someone are always right. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

First impressions, without a doubt, have great importance, but they do not always reveal the real characteristics of a person, and I believe that first impressions are not always accurate. This essay discusses why first impressions may often be deceptive and less important in judging someone. To begin with, first impressions may reveal some information about a person, but this is not a solid testament to someone's personality and character. We can judge others from the way they dress, speak, start a conversation and express their views, but this can often be ambiguous or even deceptive. For instance, my experience has taught me that people who become friends very quickly are less serious about a long-term friendship though they give an opposite impression on their first meeting. I have also learned that people try to show compassion and helpfulness on their first counter with others even if they are truly not compassionate and helpful enough. Moreover, people try to behave modestly, act friendly, show compassion and exhibit their positive sides when they meet someone for the first time. Only a long-term observation can express their true nature and intention. So, I would not agree with the view that my initial impressions about someone are always right. I believe we can learn about a person only when we spend time with the person and can understand their true colour when we observe them closely for a long time. To conclude, people are one of the greatest mysteries in the world and judging someone at the first meeting is kind of irrational. No doubt some information about someone could be learned from the first encounter, but this is not always right, at least not in my experience.