Both men and woman care more about their appearance today than they did in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that both females and males become more conscious of their looks than in the past. Personally, I completely agree with this view since they are required to look better from both personal and social perspectives. On the one hand, there is still a wide range of people who don' t care about their appearance and personal image. Firstly, workers in some industries are usually busy with their endless work and thus don' t have enough time to go shopping or dress up. For example, people from some fields, like engineering, doctors and nurses, are confronted with complicated and excessive tasks and don' t have free time. Secondly, there is no need or occasion for certain people to have an outstanding appearance. For instance, cleaners and car-fix workers, who work in a dirty and casual environment, don' t have to dress in beautiful clothes because they are more likely to make them dirty. Therefore, people wear casual clothes because of their busy schedules and work environment. Regardless of the arguments I mentioned above, I completely consider that an increasing number of humans now pay more attention to their appearance than before. The primary reason is that they have enough budgets to support them with abundant clothes and accessories like watches, rings and necklaces. Both men and women are more likely to spend money and a certain time choosing their clothes. Secondly, people nowadays foster a sense of aesthetic appreciation and thus have their own styles of clothes. Artists and journalists possibly want to show their images through their ways of dressing themselves. Thirdly, there are more formal and meaningful ceremonies for people to attend, which means a growing demand for people to pay attention to their appearance. In conclusion, while there are still a lot of people who don' t care about their appearance because of their limited time and work environment, more people are conscious of having a beautiful look.