Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, there is an increasing trend of using traditional medications rather than visiting their physician among a group of individuals who are suffering from a health issue. In my opinion, this is detrimental as self-treatment may lead to a loss of time for the critical window. I am also convinced that not visiting a doctor can have irreparable consequences. It is my view that being diagnosed at the true time is essential for the treatment. For instance, the coronavirus epidemic disease which appeared in 2020 was a sickness with symptoms just like a cold, it caused some people to be prevented from visiting specialists and they had the tendency to have home treatment as they did for a usual cold. As a result, the diagnostic window went, the dry cough started and the lungs faced a dreadful risk of complete destruction. At this level, they had to visit a doctor was totally pointless for avoiding certain death. I further believe that people who use traditional medicines are more likely to deal with side effects. When somebody consults a doctor, the doctor asks about their allergy background and the other possible medications that they may take to be sure they do not have interactions. So they prescribe accurately and patients would able to use them riskless. In conclusion, trying to treat illnesses via home therapies by a group of people is a high-risk action as they delay accurate diagnosis by physicians and may miss the required time for treatment. From my perspective, consulting a doctor can decrease dangers such as drug interactions that threaten their health.