One of the most pressing problems the world is facing today is overpopulation. What are the causes and effects of this problem?

Most certainly, overpopulation is one of the major concerns of today's world, which has multifaceted effects. It is my contention that there are numerous stressors that trigger this burst in population growth and it has corresponding ramifications for humanity. First and foremost, presently, the human population is on a drastic rise, breaking a new record every following year due to the unregulated high birth rates in certain countries. Specifically, roughly half of the human population is concentrated in two countries, China and India with over 3 billion people. It is worth noting that the declining mortality rate owing to the advancements achieved in the field of technology and medicine has lead to longer life spans and fewer deaths from diseases. For instance, previously humans were dying because of basic diseases because there was no treatment available, however now every child receives vaccines to protect themselves against terminal diseases. While the birth rates are trembling in countries like Japan and Germany, geographic regions such as Asia and the Middle East are flourishing in numbers attributable to their cultural beliefs in multi-child family formations. As a salient impact of high population density, already finite resources that are available on the earth are now shrinking sharply, therefore, posing a threat to human existence. According to the scientific estimations done by The Statistics, if the current birth rates remain stable, the human population will triple in numbers by the year 2100. Consequently, crucial resources like water, soil and air quality will be depleted if no precautionary measures are taken into account. Moreover, overpopulation is also a major factor contributing to Earth's pollution. To exemplify this statement, in economically disadvantageous countries, people have no access to the proper waste management facilities and environment protection policies are completely out of sight, thereby, they have to dispose of their waste directly into the environment, leaving their footprints on flora and fauna. In conclusion, undoubtedly, overcrowding has been listed among the biggest concerns of the modern world and there are many related causes related to it namely; demographics and increased mortality rate. It has devastating impacts on both the environment and humanity which may cease humanity to its existence if no further steps are put into action.