Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the atrocious environmental conditions have become the focus of the society. Some people put an assertion that increasing the price of fuels for all kinds of vehicles should stand as the best option to address the worsening environmental circumstances. I disagree with this given viewpoint. There are several reasons why I hold this statement. First and foremost, the skyrocketing costs of fuels will not be an antidote to reducing the emissions of fossil fuels. When the policy of boosting costs is implemented for all types of cars, people have little alternative but to bear the financial burden because they still need to commute and travel, whether by private automobile or public transit. As a result, we can not see why pricing should be raised, and emissions will remain unchanged. In addition, another alternative approach is reducing carbon footprints through promoting a remote working environment. To cite a salient example, a large sum of commuters are able to work in their own spaces resulting in less demanding vehicles. The fewer vehicles show up on the roads, the less gas emissions are generated. Therefore, it can alleviate the problem of pollution. However, this does not mean that it is not feasible to boost the costs of fuel to curb the frequent use of cars. Take the owners of private cars as an example, they may be prone to go for a walk or bike ride to their workplace due to the expensive commute. To some extent, it is possible to decrease the frequency of travel by car. To sum up, even though increasing the price of fuels is a relatively good measure, I still believe that this is not the best solution to conquer the environmental crisis as it would not uproot the rising trend of emissions from fossil fuels, and the alternative provided should be taken into account.