Social media promote a healthy or unhealthy lifestyle? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern era, social media has become one of a part of our daily lifestyle undeniably. We use social media to communicate with friends or check Instagram in the morning. It can be a powerful tool for encouraging people to have healthy or unhealthy lifestyles. This article explores the multifaceted impact of social media platforms, discussing both positive and negative effects on health. On one hand, some evidence suggests that social media platforms are not beneficial to well-being. For example, most people spend hours, sitting on the sofa and scrolling through Instagram or TikTok with hours or more in the leisure. This lack of movement could reduce calories burned each day, which increases the risk of obesity. Moreover, many influencers usually show only positive aspects of their lifestyle. This can lead some individuals to compare themselves unfavourably, resulting in feelings undervaluing themselves. On the other hand, there are some notions that social media sites could be beneficial for health. Content creators aim to have a higher view, so they make campaigns or challenges for the audience. For instance, Chloe Ting’s YouTube channel, Physical Activity Channels, promotes her channel by having people follow her program which is a two-week challenge workout, posting the video on TikTok or Instagram, and using hashtags. People who get her heart will get Apple watch. Consequently, people not only had good health but also her channel went viral. In conclusion, it is true that there are many negative effects of social media sites including mental health and physical health; however, every coin has two sides, this cloud has a benefit too by consuming positive content. From personal perspective, I agree that social media supports unhealthy lifestyles by disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Therefore, the recommendation is to choose the content that promotes healthy behaviors while being mindful of potential negative influences.