Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A handful of people carry the opinion that having a fixed sentence for certain offences such as murder is the way to go. However, there are also others who opine, arguing that the nature of the offences committed should be taken into consideration as well. In this essay, I will delve into discussing both sides of this coin and provide my view. To begin with, capital offences which encapsulate major offences such as murder and drug trafficking should be dealt with the worst punishments available. The reason it should be done this way is so that it sets a stern tone to the public and anyone who is harbouring any thought is committing a similar act. This will not only deter any further wrongdoing of the same kind but also reassure everyone that the country does not tolerate these crimes. For instance, in my country, Singapore, even the slightest trace of drugs found on anyone will be a call for prison time or worse death penalty for drug smugglers. These strict penalties have made Singapore one of the most safe and secure countries in the world. On the other side of the coin, it can be argued that certain situations can make even the most law-abiding citizen astray. Those who committed hideous crimes could be in a bad place at a bad time and they have no choice but to perform those acts. For instance, a drug mule captured recently was forced to deliver drug packages through ingestion from London to Singapore because his spouse was kidnapped by a drug lord in his home country in Columbia. These set off a global call to the Singapore judicial council to reconsider the capital punishment being given to him. In conclusion, in my opinion, all capital offences must be dealt with by fixed capital punishments such as the life or death penalty for the sake of public safety and also acting as a part of deterrence for future crimes. However, I also encourage all crimes to be thoroughly investigated as there are certainly instances where an innocent man is doing what he did not by choice but was being forced and the mastermind should be arrested and face the music instead.