Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals present the idea that there should be a certain punishment for any type of crime, while others believe that the circumstances of the criminals and the motive for committing the crime should be considered in deciding on the punishment. I completely agree with the former opinion and my reasons for the same will be presented in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that unintentional crimes can pose a threat to the safety of society. Once a criminal escapes punishment he may be encouraged to commit more crimes. As a result, the citizens of the society are not able to live their lives peacefully. The situation is complicated by the fact that people find it difficult to recognize criminals from normal persons in the city. As a result, the sense of trust can be seriously damaged and this causes major problems for city residents. In other words, people fail to attend social activities, go to their workplaces or even go on holidays. Therefore, a large section of the community will suffer the consquences of not punishing the criminals. On the other hand, another group of people claim that the influencing environmental factors and incentives of criminals to commit crimes should always be taken into consideration before deciding on their punishment. They emphasize that financial issues, family problems etc. are the reasons leading to crime. However, this argument does not convince me because criminals are responsible for their violent acts. They should be discouraged from committing any kind of crime so that the society remains safe. Finally, in my view, punishment can act as a deterrent and prevent the spread of violence in the community. Moreover, fair punishments make the society safer.