Obesity in children is a serious problem in a number of countries. What are the causes of obesity in children? Discuss the possible alarming effects of this problem in the future.

Nowadays, in some countries, obesity in childhood has become more and more often, bringing several problems in their present and adult lives. This essay will discuss the main causes of this and some consequences for the future of these children. Undoubtedly, bad food habits and a sedentary lifestyle are the main reasons for this issue. Firstly, the consumption of fast-food meals by kids has increased in the last twenty years due to low prices and massive investments in advertisements. For example, fast-food chains like McDonald's and Burger King apply billions of dollars each year towards kids and teenagers. As a result, children are eating more unhealthy food which leads to an increase in their weight overall. Additionally, the current using of electronic devices and technologies, such as smartphones, video games, and tablets has caused young people to do less exercise and sports than in the past. As a consequence, obesity has become a serious problem for these children. For instance, some kids can struggle with bullying at school because of their body shape and difficulty in doing sports. Besides, they can develop some diseases, mainly related to heart and blood pressure. The solutions are hard to implement owing to the fact that there is a huge industry behind, which expects to earn hundreds of thousands of dollars in profits from this public. Governments should regulate this commerce, banning advertising for kids and making public campaigns to encourage parents and kids to eat more healthy meals. Another measure can be taken at schools, for example, by stimulating children to do more sports and physical activities, and forbidding cell phones in the classroom. To conclude, obesity in young people is an urgent question in the current days. The consequences are many as mentioned before, especially for the body and mental health of kids, not only today, but in their future lives. To solve this problem, parents, schools, and governments should work together and face the private interests of big enterprises.