Some experts believe that a second language should be taught at an early age. Do the advantages ouyweigh the disadvantages

Many people believe that children should learn a foreign language other than their mother tongue and they should start it at primary school. I completely agree with this proposed idea because I believe that children at much younger ages are more receptive to new subjects and have greater learning ability. In addition, in older age during high school, foreign language has already been introduced to them so they feel less burdened with additional subjects. It has been proved that children have greater potential to learn new things at a younger age. For example, based on one research that has been carried out on school - age pupils in Iran, researchers compared the learning ability of elementary school children with older students and realized that younger children have a higher ability to learn the English language faster and more fluently than older ones. Therefore, it makes more sense to introduce the language course at an early age. Moreover, high school students have to study many advanced subjects during their academic years so if a new foreign language course is introduced to their difficult curriculum this means an additional burden on them and as a consequence, they will get frustrated and focus less on that. To be more precise, in this case, the purpose of learning a second language which is the optimal use of it will not be achieved or they will need the extra effort and time to master that language. To summarize, based on what mentioned above, learning new subjects including a second language needs to be introduced to children in their earlier ages because they have more potential to learn and master that subject compared with the older age.