Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

It is evident that progressing technology has had a significant role in facilitating the process of downloading suites or books from the internet for free. There remains some disagreement as to whether it should be considered as an approving or disapproving development. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, in this essay I would contend that implementing this policy would be accompanied by human advancements and environmental improvements. The reasons for this are as follows. First and foremost, inadequate salaries and unaffordable expenses of life, particularly in developing countries have forced individuals to seek copyrighted music and books. According to the statistics, due to an increase in the price of paper in 2022, the cost of printed books has soared by up to 30% from 2022 to 2023. Thus, rather than spending a fortune on purchasing books, especially for school and university students, downloading them from the internet seems more logical. Yet, perhaps the strongest argument in favour of this issue is the fact that downloading copyrighted books and music could be accounted as an environmentally friendly move. For instance, in 2023 availability of more books on the internet resulted in a 10% decrease in cut down trees. Otherwise, having utilized timbers in order to produce paper would lead to irreparable ecological consequences. Admittedly, supporting the producers financially by governments and taking measures to prevent any abuse by the police could play a significant role in continuing this trend. By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that downloading suites or books from the internet for free could have a significant role in the betterment of both society and the environment.