Over time, as children grow older, the relationship they have with their parents changes. In your opinion, what role should parents have in their adult children’s lives?

As children grow up, the relationships with their parents change and could become stronger and based on trust or, on the contrary, become distant. I believe that during adulthood, parents should stay close to their children but not invasive, in order to maintain good communication and to be relied on. Parents have to build, since the birth of their child, strong basics, such as trust, pride, respect and love to make a balanced adult later. For example, studies show that children whose parents gave them a respectful and secure education are meant to be happy grown-up people. Moreover, parents have to always stay close to their children; For instance, even if we are adults, we feel safer if we know that our parents can hear our up or down moods or just can help us with a recipe. So, it encourages a strong and communication-based relationship between parents and children, which is essential to be happy in life for both sides. Parents, however, have to respect the intimacy and the independence of their children. The aim of raising children is to let them leave the nest and stay near them but not too close. This could maintain trust and reciprocity in the relationship. Otherwise, if this is not respected, it can damage the contact between both of them. As an aside, children await autonomy, emancipation and living on their own to be happy in life. If parents are too invasive, children become distant and the link could be broken. To summarize, whilst parents have to give love and respect to their children to build a strong relationship, they also have to not be too invasive in order to keep a strong link between both of them.