Many people argue that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

Transportation is a cornerstone of major cities, enabling residents to transport from one point to another. The debate over whether cities should make public transportation free of charge in metropolises has been longstanding,with a majority of people praising the benefits that it will bring to the cities. It is my contention that while benefits such as less traffic and improved air quality will be fulfilled afterwards, I would say the drawbacks are solely limited to the accumulation of crowding in alternative transportation vehicles due to the growth. Making city transportation costless indeed has several advantages, and one of the most noticeable ones is alleviating congestion in capital cities. Many key cities around the world are facing the challenge of dealing with a large number of private vehicles on the roads, leading to long congestion lines. By providing free transportation, with support from government agencies, citizens are more likely to choose public vehicles for their travel needs. A great example of this is Luxembourg, which became the first country to make public transportation free. As a result, people started to prefer using public transportation instead of relying on their cars. Furthermore, presently, the environmental impact of exhaust gasses has reached an alarming rate in many major cities such as Shangai, New York and Istanbul where the conditions of public transportation are not an ideal fit. A second advantage emerges here as the number of private vehicles will be substantially decreased if the governors have decided to refuse to charge its citizens for communal transportation. On the contrary side, free transportation may also lead to a condition in which the existing city transportation premises could not handle this instantaneous demand growth, leading towards crowd gatherings on metro and buses. Thus, it is important to acknowledge that in order to establish sustainable transportation within the cities, the current capacity of transportation facilities should be analyzed and expanded to evade the unanticipated swarm of citizens prior to making free-of-charge transportation publicly available. In conclusion, free public transportation in major cities has both merits and demerits. While it can alleviate traffic congestion and improve air quality, it also poses a threat to cause overcrowding issues.