Some people think that parents have an powerful influence in child's life, while the influence from outside the home plays a bigger part of child's development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some individuals believe that parents affect a child’s life significantly, however, society has a larger influence on a child’s future. From my perspective, I believe that this given argument is justified. First of all, it is true that parents are necessary in children ’s development. As an old saying goes: “ Parents are children ’s first teachers in their life.” I believe that fathers’ and mothers’ behavior absolutely affects youngsters. There is a report that said over 80% of children who are under 4 years old would mimic their parents ’ actions, and, in addition, when they grow up, their personalities will be similar to their parents ’. However, as far as I am concerned, society, such as friends, classmates, and teachers, would have a greater influence. Firstly, most children spend their time in school after the age of 6. Teachers not only teach them knowledge but also influence their beliefs and values. For instance, in many schools, if teachers ’ quality is not good enough and they always punish students harshly, it can negatively affect most of the children ’s lives. In addition, classmates and friends may also impact children strongly. Besides teachers and parents, children always stay with their friends. Especially teenagers, some of whom do not want to spend time with their parents, may spend most of their day hanging out with their friends and doing things without parental guidance. For example, a boy who always spends hours with his friends, who often commit crimes, such as theft, threats, or gambling, may lose his way in life. Therefore, external factors and people may have a deep influence on young people. In conclusion, parents, of course, have a strong effect on children, while I believe that society may have a stronger impact on their growth, as a result of children spending more time with friends and teachers while they form their beliefs and values.