Some people think that genetically modified (GM) crops are a positive development. Others, however, argue that they are potentially dangerous. Discuss both these views andgive your own opinion.

GM products have been at the centre of a global debate for severa l years. Some people claim that the genetic engineering of food products brings many advantages. This essay deals with arguments for and against t his controversial issue. Those people who are in favour of this method of production argue that food production can be massively increased by making crops more resistant to pests. Secondly, they believe that food can be actually be improved by adding vitamins or removing problem genes that lead to allergies, for example in peanuts. Fruit and vegeta bles can also last much longer if the gene that ripens them is modified. This means that they can be stored for much longer periods and so there will be less waste. However. people who oppose the widespread use of GM techniques worry that there could be long-term negative effects. They are concerned that so far the GM industry has not been able to prove that they are safe. The issue is not only how safe such foods are for humans, but also what long-term effects they may have on the environment and wildlife populations. For instance, there is some evidence to suggest that GM crops may contaminate nearby plants. In conclusion, I personally tend to agree with these concerns. I think that while there may be obvious benefits to GM crops, overall, they present more potential dangers. Their impact could be so large and so irreversible that more long-term studies should be carried out before their use spreads any further.