In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, the advent of technology and a plethora of innovations have made living affairs more comfortable for human beings, creating way higher life expectations for individuals. As a consequence, the number of old people is increasing in the society. Nevertheless, some assert that elderly people are a burden; I side with those who believe these people have more benefits for their community, attempting to outline some underlying reasons for this. One argument is that elderly people are not as productive as younger generations, creating complications for society members. Many people after their seventies wouldn't possibly work, and if they do so, they are not efficient enough for the industry as they have physical limitations. Also, a considerable proportion of the state's remuneration, which is mostly raised by younger generations paying taxes, is spent as pension for them. As a result, provided that fewer elderly people are alive, these taxes could be used to improve the health and education system or upkeep of public transportation and amenities, resulting in a more prosperous and flourishing society. However, the advantages of the existence of elderly people far more compensate for their disadvantages in case of their knowledge and experience. Firstly, having experienced decades of difficulties in different eras, aging people would help youngsters, showing them the best ways to overcome challenges in their careers and private lives. Furthermore, they are bound to be the most precious assets alive in the case of culture, as they link us to our ancestors. When each old individual passes away, it is as if a library full of books about knowledge and culture would be buried. Finally, they can use their skills in jobs that are not physically demanding, such as art, music, and coaching a sports club. In summary, although it is understandable that the older generations might be a deterrent to their community in some cases – a case in point is the financial drain on their pension – their merits outweigh the negatives, without a doubt, when it comes to their knowledge and experience, as they signify and connect society members with their maternal language and cultural identities. Moreover, in addition to their non-physical skills, which would be advantageous, their guides may be helpful for youngsters so that they can lead a fruitful working and personal life.