Some people believe that most crime is a result of circumstances, e.g. poverty and other social problems. Others, however, believe most crime is caused by people who are bad by nature. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there is still a significant increase in the number of criminals in many countries, even if their national economy is growing. Therefore, people hold different views about the factors contributing to crimes. Some people believe that the soaring crime rates are related to circumstances, including poverty and other social problems. One main reason is that the majority of offenders are indeed poor, due to socially-disadvantaged background or lack of the ability to make a living. Consequently, they are forced to steal or rob in the case where their desires, such as decent clothes or exquisite meals, cannot be fulfilled by their own money. Besides, young convicts may be influenced by violent scenes in media. Generally, the actors and their behaviors may be cool from their perspective, so they unconsciously and adversely affected and even begin to imitate the actions in their real life, which are more prone to damage others and even break laws. However, the fact that some governors with power as well as intelligence and managers with wealth also violate laws denies the view above. Hence, some individuals think that genes dictate whether one commit crimes or not. In their view, the reason why the wealthy or cleaver commit crimes is that they are bad naturally. That means it is the traits that they inherited from parents that decide their cruel behaviors. However, if this were true, we could predict a person’s personality or character from the moment they are born. In my view, it is the interaction of nature and nurture that shapes a person’s value and influence if one person will commit crimes or not.