In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or mall to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people tend to do shopping in the huge mall rather than in local shops. It sparked a lot of debate since small shops affected by this phenomenon as they can be stop operating their businesses. This essay will mention both of pros and cons, subsequently I will prove that this issue is a negative development. To begin with, a convincing argument can be made that the shopping centers can make some humans live easier. For example, they can fulfill their different needs just in one place while they can compare one brand to another by price, quality, or other values. In other words, they receive lucrative deals by shopping in the gigantic market through time and money saving. That is the reason citizens like to buy there. On the other hand, not every seller can follow the development pace of these large mall. In fact, they sometimes can not compete and end up being unemployed. For instance, Tanah Abang Market is closed nowadays since there is a mall, called Sencity Mall that is built right after Tanah Abang Market. This phenomenon create some loss for the individuals who work in Tanah Abang Market. Furthermore, it also increases economy gap between the large business owner and the small business owner. In essence, it is a development that brings adverse impacts socially. To sum up, this development create some impacts. Although we realize the advantages of large shopping centers for particular people, it does not erase the drawbacks that make more society suffer.