With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more of these natural resources. To what extent do you agree?

With the development of industrialization, the demand for oil and gas has been increasing. As a result, many people argue that undiscovered areas of the world should be exploited to obtain more resources, while others believe that obtaining resources from unknown areas can have unpredictable consequences. I disagree with the idea of gaining more natural resources in pristine areas. On the one hand, raw areas being opened may cause environmental damage. Pristine areas may contain some substances that have never been discovered, which may lead to unpredictable consequences such as ecological environment damage, and biological habitat destruction. For instance, research discovered that ancient viruses have been buried deep in glaciers, and scientists studied two glacier cores and found that 28 unknown virus groups were buried in them last year. As a result, if undiscovered areas of the world are exploited, the environment may face a perilous situation. On the other hand, developing new areas to obtain natural resources may lead to environmental pollution. Generally, developing areas require enough space, so people will clear land and forests are cut down, which leads to serious undermining of the ecosystem. For example, according to relevant reports from the United Nations, desertification of 70% of land is closely related to over-exploitation. Moreover, developed areas may cause excessive water use and water pollution, which results in decreasing water quality and the destruction of aquatic life zones. Consequently, the impact of developing an area is more harmful than beneficial. In conclusion, I disagree with the development of pristine areas in search of fossil fuels, as the development of undiscovered areas may cause serious deprivation that cannot be predicted or remedied.