Some people think the manufacturers and shopping malls should sell fewer packaged products while others argue that people have the responsibility to buy products with less packaging. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Packaged products can be seen everywhere in our lives. Some people believe that producers should use less packaging in their products. At the same time, others feel it is people ’s duty to purchase products with less packaging. Personally, I think people are the main group to take the responsibility to control the amount of packaging in products. There are some strong arguments to support the idea that the responsibility of reducing the amount of packaging relies only on the manufacturers. Firstly, producers have complete knowledge of their products and are fully aware of the amount of packaging. Therefore, they should be conscious of how much material they use in the packaging process. For instance, producers can focus on the quality of their packaging material, rather than on the quantity. In this way, with the financial power that manufacturers have, they can produce more eco-friendly materials and packages. As a result, the responsibility relies heavily on the manufacturers to control the amount of packaging for their products. On the other hand, some people think that people have the responsibility to reduce buying products with a lot of packaging. Consumers play a crucial role in marketing, which means they have the power to influence market trends through their purchasing decisions. For example, individuals usually choose reusable material and the environmentally friendly products, which sends a message to businesses about their preference for sustainable packaging. As a result, consumers actively participate in reducing packaging waste and encouraging companies to adopt a more eco-friendly packaging habit. In conclusion, the dilemma of the responsibility of packaging is a much-heated controversy. Some believe that it is solely the manufacturers’ responsibility to control their packaging, others however, put the burden on people ’s shoulders. In my personal view, both parties should collaborate to mitigate the negative effects of excessive packaging.