Some people think that it is best to live in a vertical city (meaning that people work and live in high buildings) while others think a horizontal city is better. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that there is still debate among individuals over whether it is better to live in a horizontal or vertical metropolis. Although many individuals think that living in a horizontal city has advantages, I contend that cities with skyscrapers and high-rise structures have more benefits to offer. On the one hand, living in a vertical city looks like the ideal option. First of all, for individuals with low or intermediate incomes in particular, living in an apartment in a high-rise building would be a preferable option. For example, in Vietnam, the price of a two-story home would be about 5 billion dong, whereas the price of an apartment would only be about 1.5 billion dong. Second, residents in high-rise buildings would have greater access to amenities like banks, fitness centers, and supermarkets. As a result, living in an apartment in a tall building with a variety of amenities is far more convenient for occupants. On the other hand, there are a few security and private space reasons why living in a horizontal city is advantageous for its citizens. Residents in private homes, for instance, could have bigger yards and garages. They would be able to spend more time on activities like vehicle washing and gardening as a consequence, which may be good for their mental health. Another argument is that, in an emergency, such a fire or an earthquake, living in a low-rise structure is safer. For instance, because the house is not too high off the ground, people may rapidly evacuate from risky places in the event of a fire. It also won't take long for them to do so. In conclusion, while there is merit to both points of view, I believe that living in a vertical city is preferable when one is surrounded by skyscrapers.