People should choose their course of study not on the basis of their own interests, but based on the kinds of jobs they can get.

Some people claim that students should choose their studies according to a job they could find in the future, instead of studies they are interested in. I do agree because it could avoid an important unemployment rate in a country and increase the skilled workforce as well. My first argument is that today, more and more students choose studies they are interested in, but in the end, they are left unemployed because too many people have chosen the same courses. For example, these days, young people are willing to study new technology, like creating video games or new applications for smartphones. But many of them can't find any position because of the large number of people seeking the same job at the same time. Therefore, to avoid unemployment, we need to define from the beginning of their education, what people will do, in order to fill all the business sectors. Moreover, we need a skilled workforce to accomplish good work. In other words, if people were taught what they were going to do later, it would encourage quality work. For instance, when people stay unemployed for a long period of time, they try to find another kind of job or sometimes, try to retrain themselves. But when they are not trained for a different job, they can fail in their new tasks. However, not choosing a course of study for our own interests could be a lack of freedom. Students should have the right to choose the studies they like and it could be a guarantee of success in their exams, which can make them feel fulfilled in their lives. As an aside, studies have shown that students who are forced to learn a component at school, have less success than others. In conclusion, whilst students need to be free to select what they want to learn, I believe that choosing studies relying on the job people will do later, should be efficient to avoid unemployment and have a skilled workforce.